Assault / Aggravated Assault
A conviction for any type of assault or violent crime in Georgetown can carry stiff penalties and result in a possibly permanent criminal record. An individual can be charged with assault if they been in any type of altercation with another person, including a physical fight, argument or any type of verbal threat. As there are two sides to every assault allegation, these types of situations usually result in your word against the alleged victims without any eyewitness account.
If you have been accused of assault, it is important to ensure you have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side who will make every effort to ensure your interests are protected and fight the allegation against you. This is where Law Office of Price & Wiggins, P.C. steps in.
Georgetown Assault Defense Lawyer
If you have been charged with assault or aggravated assault in Georgetown, we urge you to contact Law Office of Price & Wiggins, P.C.. Criminal defense attorney Michael J. Price has a deep understanding of what defendants may face against the prosecution, which can be invaluable in building a strong defense strategy.
When facing criminal charges you are fighting for your freedom, your livelihood, and your reputation. Texas criminal defense attorney Michael J. Price will make every effort to help you avoid the serious penalties and repercussions to your alleged violent crime. Law Office of Price & Wiggins, P.C. represents individuals in Round Rock, Georgetown, Cedar Park, Leander, Taylor, Hutto. Contact us today at (512) 354-1880 to discuss your assault allegations during a free, initial consultation.
Under Texas law an individual can be convicted of an assault offense if they knowingly, intentionally or recklessly cause bodily injury to another person. A charge can also apply if they intentionally or knowingly threaten another person with immediate bodily injury or cause physical contact to another person. The penalties of assault can vary depending on the circumstances surrounding the particular assault case.
The offense of assault is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor if the alleged offender:
- Knowingly, intentionally or recklessly caused bodily injury to another person, and/or
- Assaulted an elderly or disable individual.
A conviction for a Class A misdemeanor assault is punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a fine up to $4,000.
The offense of assault is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor if the alleged offender:
- Intentionally threatened the alleged victim with bodily injury, and/or
- The alleged offender was a sports official performing their professional duty.
A conviction for a Class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine up to $2,000.
The offense of assault is punishable as a Class C misdemeanor if the alleged offender intentionally and knowingly threatened another person with imminent bodily injury, or they intentionally or knowingly physically contacted another person. A conviction for this degree of offense is punishable by a fine up to $500.
The offense of assault is punishable as a felony of the third degree if the offense is committed against:
- A public servant,
- A family member or significant other,
- A government official,
- A security officer and/or
- An emergency service personnel.
Additionally, if an individual intentionally, knowingly or recklessly prevents another person’s breathing by choking them or covering their airways, they can be convicted of a felony of the third-degree assault offense. A felony of the third degree is punishable by two to ten years in prison and/or a fine up to $10,000.
An assault offense can be classified as aggravated assault if the individual causes serious bodily injury to another person or if a deadly weapon was used during the commission of the offense, according to Texas Penal Code §22.02. Serious bodily injury is defined in Texas as any bodily injury that causes death or a substantial risk of death, serious permanent disfigurement, and/or impairment of the use of any body organ or body part.
An aggravated assault conviction is generally punishable as a felony of the second degree. This degree of offense can result in a prison sentence from two to 20 years and/or a fine up to $10,000. A charge of aggravated assault can result in a felony of the first-degree conviction if the alleged offense is committed against a family member or significant other, security officer or a public servant.
Additionally, if the offender operates a firearm from a motor vehicle in the direction of another vehicle or building, and causes bodily harm to another person, they can be charged with a felony of the first degree aggravated assault offense. A felony of the first degree is punishable by a prison sentence of five to 99 years or life imprisonment and/or a fine up to $10,000.
Texas Department of Family and Protective Services – The Texas Department of Family & Protective Services provides information on child protective services (CPS) and foster care. Click the link to report child abuse or exploitation of the elderly with disabilities living at home. The website also lists how to recognize signs of abuse.
Commission on State Emergency Communications – The mission of the Commission on State Emergency Communications (CSEC) is to preserve and enhance public safety and health in TX through reliable access to emergency communications services. Click the link to view valuable resources available such as the national suicide hotline, and national alliance on mental illness (NAMI).
Texas Aggravated Assault Attorney
If you have been charged with aggravated assault, it’s time to act now. During this process, hiring a criminal defense attorney may be the most important decision you’ll ever make. Michael J. Price is an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Georgetown who will make every effort to fight the allegations against you and help you achieve the best possible outcome for your alleged offense.
Law Office of Price & Wiggins, P.C. has an office Georgetown, but Law Office of Price & Wiggins, P.C. represents people throughout the greater Williamson County and Bell County, Texas area. Contact (512) 354-1880 for a free, initial consultation about your alleged assault offense. We are prepared to review your case.