Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor
The passage of the National Minimum Drinking Age Act of 1984 by the United States Congress reduced the apportionment of federal highway funds by 10 percent to states that allowed persons below 21 years to continue to purchase and publicly possess alcoholic beverages. As a result, Texas raised its minimum drinking age to 21 on September 1, 1986.
Texas not only criminalizes the purchase and possession of alcohol by minors but also punishes people who provide alcohol to individuals under 21 years of age. Furnishing alcohol to minors, purchase of alcohol for minors, and sale of alcohol to minors are all misdemeanor offenses that can result in major fines and possible jail time.
Attorney for Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor Arrests in Georgetown, TX
Were you recently arrested for allegedly providing alcohol to, buying alcohol for, or selling alcohol to a minor in Central Texas? You should not say anything to authorities without legal counsel. Contact Law Office of Michael J. Price, P.C. as soon as possible.
Michael J. Price is an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Georgetown who defends clients in Hutto, Belton, Cedar Park, Georgetown, Harker Heights, and several other nearby areas in Williamson County and Bell County.
Call (512) 354-1880 to have our attorney review your case and help you understand all of your legal options during a free, confidential consultation.
Overview of Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor in Texas
- What constitutes furnishing alcohol to a minor?
- How can people be punished if convicted of providing alcohol to minors?
- Where can I find more information about furnishing alcohol to a minor in Georgetown?
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code § 106.06(b) establishes that a person can purchase an alcoholic beverage for or give an alcoholic beverage to a minor if that person is:
- the minor’s adult parent, guardian, or spouse, or an adult in whose custody the minor has been committed by a court, and is visibly present when the minor possesses or consumes the alcoholic beverage; or
- a person lawfully providing an alcoholic beverage to a minor under Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code § 106.16, the exception for certain coursework that allows minors to taste alcohol for educational purposes as part of the curriculum for an approved course.
Under Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code § 106.06(a), however, an alleged offender commits the offense of purchase of alcohol for a minor or furnishing alcohol to a minor if he or she purchases an alcoholic beverage for or gives or with criminal negligence makes available an alcoholic beverage to a minor. Either offense is a Class A misdemeanor.
It is also a Class A misdemeanor under Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code § 106.03(a) if a person with criminal negligence sells an alcoholic beverage to a minor. Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code § 106.03(b) states that a person who sells a minor an alcoholic beverage does not commit the offense of sale to minors if the minor falsely represents himself to be 21 years old or older by displaying an apparently valid proof of identification.
Such identification can include a driver’s license or identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety (DPS), a passport, or a military identification card—that contains a physical description and photograph consistent with the minor’s appearance, purports to establish that the minor is 21 years of age or older, and was issued by a governmental agency.
In Texas, a Class A misdemeanor conviction is punishable by:
- Up to one year in jail; and
- Fine of up to $4,000.
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code § 106.06(c) further states that a judge who places an alleged offender charged with purchase of alcohol for a minor or furnishing alcohol to a minor on community supervision can—if the individual committed the offense at a gathering where participants were involved in the abuse of alcohol, including binge drinking or forcing or coercing individuals to consume alcohol, in addition to any other condition imposed by the judge—require the alleged offender to:
- perform a minimum of 20 up to 40 hours of community service; and
- attend an alcohol awareness program.
Additionally, the judge can also order the DPS to suspend the driver’s license or permit of the alleged offender or, if he or she does not have a driver’s license or permit, to deny the issuance of a driver’s license or permit to that individual for 180 days.
Alcohol and Your Child | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) — View a TABC pamphlet designed to help parents understand their roles in protecting children from the dangers of underage drinking. The pamphlet includes statistics, definitions of binge drinking and alcohol poisoning, and a strategy for parents. You can also learn more about laws for parents and how those laws are enforced.
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code | Title 4, Chapter 106 | Provisions Relating To Age — View the full text of state laws relating to alcohol and minors in Texas. In addition to furnishing alcohol to a minor, purchase of alcohol for a minor, and sale to minors, you can also find statutes for the purchase of alcohol by a minor, attempt to purchase alcohol by a minor, and consumption of alcohol by a minor. The chapter also covers You can also learn more about the misrepresentation of age by a minor, attendance at alcohol awareness courses, and expunction of conviction or arrest records of a minor.
Find a Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor Defense Lawyer in Georgetown, TX
If you were arrested in Central Texas for allegedly providing alcohol to, buying alcohol for, or selling alcohol to a minor, it would be in your best interest to immediately seek legal representation. Law Office of Michael J. Price, P.C. represents individuals in communities all over Williamson County and Bell County, such as Killeen, Temple, Taylor, Round Rock, Leander, and many others.
Georgetown criminal defense attorney Michael J. Price can fight to possibly get your criminal charges reduced or dismissed. He can provide a complete evaluation of your case when you call (512) 354-1880 or fill out an online contact form to receive a free initial consultation