By Brooke Price
Assault charges in Texas come with very serious consequences, and family violence cases are increasing in Central Texas at an alarming rate. According to the Austin American Statesman, calls to domestic abuse shelters and hotlines have spiked drastically as families spend a greater amount of time together because of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Even as Central Texas continues to slowly open, many are still cooped up at home with little escape from possibly abusive environments. With schools and offices still closed and/or open at limited capacity and hours, many officials fear that even more of these cases are going unreported.
Assault charges are elevated to a felony when the victim is a member of the household— whether that is a dating relationship or family— and the offense is committed by intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly impeding the normal breathing or circulation of the blood of the alleged victim by applying pressure to the alleged victim’s throat or neck or by blocking the alleged victim’s nose or mouth. Texas Penal Code § 22.01
Assault by Strangulation charges can range anywhere from a third-degree felony with up to ten years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine, to a second-degree felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you have been charged with committing an alleged assault against a significant other, family or household member, by strangulation or suffocation in Williamson County, you should avoid making any kind of statement to authorities until you have legal counsel. Contact Law Office of Price & Wiggins, P.C. today so we can review your case.