Post by Brooke Price
According to the Texas Arrest Data report published by the Texas Department of Public Safety, a large percentage of all criminal arrests in Texas are drug possession charges. There are many factors that affect the consequences that you may face, such as drug category, intent to distribute, penalty group, and prescription status.
Depending on the penalty group and drug classification, you could face anywhere from a class B misdemeanor with up to six months in jail and a $2,000 fine to a first-degree felony with up to 99 years in prison.
With all of the factors that may affect the outcome of your case, you will need an experienced attorney at your side. There may be options available to resolve your case that avoid jail time and, in some cases, allow for your case to be dismissed.
For example, you may qualify for a specialty court program to focus on treatment if you are dealing with addiction. Programs such as the DWI/Drug Court help participants maintain sobriety and result in less recidivism than traditional probation. Depending on the individual circumstances of each case, completion of a specialty court may also allow your case to be reduced to a lower charge.
If you are charged with Possession of Controlled Substances in Texas, you may face collateral consequences. It may be difficult to find employment, your license may be suspended or revoked, it may be challenging to acquire loans or leases, and a conviction could be on your permanent record.
If you have been charged with Possession of a Controlled Substance in Texas, do not hesitate to hire an attorney. Call the Law Office of Michael Price, P.C. so that we can review your case and work to get you the best possible outcome.