By Brooke Price
Delta-8 tetrahydrocannabinol is a substance created with CBD from low-THC hemp, meaning it has a very little amount of the psychoactive compound found in marijuana. Although there has been speculation of future changes to laws regarding recreational marijuana use, is still illegal to possess or distribute cannabis in Texas.
Under the Texas Health & Safety Code Chapter 433, Delta-8 is permitted for products that do not exceed 0.3% of THC in its contents. This means that Delta-8 products with more than 0.3% THC are still considered to be Schedule I controlled substances.
What does this mean for you?
According to Texas Penal Code §481.121, If you are found in possession of 2oz or less of marijuana, you will be charged with a misdemeanor, face up to 180 days in jail, and be responsible for a fine of up to $2,000. Based on the amount of marijuana in your possession, and if you were attempting to distribute the drug, if you have other drug paraphernalia on hand, or if there are minors involved, you can face serious consequences.
It is also important to know the potential effects that Delta-8 may have on your physical and mental health. Delta-8 THC products have not been FDA evaluated or approved, which means you may be at risk of purchasing unsafe or unregulated products that may contain harmful chemicals. Adverse effects from use of Delta-8 have also been reported, including hallucinations, vomiting, confusion, and other symptoms requiring medical intervention.
If you have been charged with a marijuana offense involving Delta-8 THC in Williamson or Bell County, contact Price & Twine, PLLC at (512) 354-1880 today so we can review your case.