Author avatar


Rodeo Austin Comes This Month

Rodeo Austin returns to Central Texas this month, from March 8 to 23 at 9100 Decker Lake Road in Austin. The Rodeo brings with it live music, livestock shows and the carnival.

Fairgrounds will open at 10 a.m. with general admission tickets beginning at $5-10 and concert admissions beginning at $30.

DUIs are Common at the Austin Rodeo

A key staple of any Texas festival is alcohol, and DUI charges are common whenever a big event comes to town. With more than 400,000 projected attendees, Austin can be expected to see a good number of DUI infractions in the coming weeks.

What is a DUI?

Texas Penal Code Section 49.01 defines legal intoxication as having a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 grams or less. Driving a vehicle while above this limit is illegal as it poses a danger to oneself and others on the road and is generally called Driving Under the Influence.

Blood alcohol concentration is defined by the number of grams of alcohol per:

  • 210 liters of breath;
  • 100 milliliters of blood;  or
  • 67 milliliters of urine.

Driving while intoxicated is a Class B Misdemeanor, punishable in Texas by imprisonment of 3 days to 6 months in jail. However, if you have more than .15 BAC, then the charge becomes a Class A Misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail.

Public Intoxication

Another charge that comes with Texas festivals is public intoxication. Section 49.02 of Texas Penal Code defines public intoxication as being “intoxicated to the degree that the person may endanger the person or another.” Translated, this means that heavy intoxication is generally regarded as dangerous for the individual.

Public intoxication is punishable as a Class C Misdemeanor. Class C Misdemeanors may be punished by a fine of up to $500.

What to do if You Get Charged with a DUI or Public Intoxication

The best policy is to monitor your drinks and refer to a helpful chart like this one; however, sometimes mistakes can happen. In these cases, the best thing to do is to contact the skilled DUI lawyers at Price & Twine. Our attorneys have decades of experience defending both low and high-level criminal infractions and are ready to help you when you need it most.

If you’re ever in need, call our firm today at 512.354.1880 or contact us online.

Posted in Criminal Defense, DWI

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *