Reckless Driving in Williamson and Bell County
Reckless driving offense is a criminal traffic offense in Texas that can result from situations, even if the alleged offender did not intent to operate their vehicle in a reckless manner. A person can be charged with reckless driving if they violate the speed limit by driving too fast, driving while distracted due to talking on a cell phone, flee or elude police officers, swerve in and out of traffic, cause a traffic accident, or drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
A conviction for reckless driving can add points to an individual’s driving record in Texas and the accumulation of too many points in a specified amount of time can result in the suspension of the alleged offender’s driver’s license. Losing the ability to drive in Texas can be very stressful and possibly result in other repercussions if the driver is unable to find alternative means of transportation. If you have been charged with reckless driving in central Texas, contact an experienced Williamson County traffic crimes defense attorney.
Georgetown Reckless Driving Attorney
If you have been charged with reckless driving in Georgetown or any of the surrounding areas of Round Rock, Cedar Park, Killeen or Temple, contact Law Office of Michael J. Price, P.C.. Michael J. Price is a Texas criminal defense lawyer who understands how devastating the loss of a license can be, and will make every effort to fight the traffic allegations you are facing.
Contact Law Office of Michael J. Price, P.C. today at (512) 354-1880 or to discuss your alleged reckless driving offense.
Reckless Driving in Georgetown
Under section 545.401 of the Texas Transportation Code, an individual can be charged with reckless driving if they drive a car or another type of motor vehicle with complete disregard for the safety of people or property around them while they are operating their vehicle.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Georgetown
A basic reckless driving offense can result in a misdemeanor offense and if convicted, an individual can face up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine up to $200. However, this basic penalty for reckless driving can increase if the alleged offender has previously been convicted of other serious traffic offenses, they cause property damage, serious bodily injury or death during the commission of the reckless driving, or they flee or elude from a police officer.
Habitual Traffic Violator in Texas
A habitual traffic offender (HTO) in Texas is defined as someone who has four or more moving violations in a period of 12 months or seven traffic violations in 24 months, according to Tex. Transp. Ann. § 521.292. A person who has multiple reckless driving offenses can be classified as a habitual traffic offender.
An HTO can have their driver’s license suspended for 90 days if they do not request an administrative license revocation or suspension hearing within 15 days of receiving notice that their driver’s license is being considered for suspension.
An administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing is a non-criminal hearing presided over by an administrative judge to determine if a proposed license suspension by the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) should be upheld. An administrative license revocation is separate from a criminal penalty. If the alleged offender is subsequently convicted of an offense that is punishable by a license suspension, they can receive both the administrative suspension and the criminal penalty suspension.
Factors the TxDPS will take into consideration when determining whether to suspend an individual’s driver’s license can include if the individual:
- Is habitually reckless or negligent while operating their motor vehicle,
- Habitually violates traffic laws, and or
- Has committed an offense in another state or Canada that would be grounds for a license suspension in Texas.
Texas Driver Responsibility Program
Like many states, Texas has a driving point system where points are assigned to an individual’s driving record for a period of three years due to certain traffic violations. Points can be assigned in the following ways:
- Two points are assigned for a moving violation conviction such as reckless driving in Texas or another state.
- Three points are assigned for a moving violation conviction in Texas or another state that resulted in a traffic accident.
An accumulation of six points during a three-year period can result in a surcharge of $100 for the first six points and $25 for each additional point per year.
Law Office of Michael J. Price, P.C. | Williamson County Reckless Driving Lawyer
Contact Law Office of Michael J. Price, P.C., today at (512) 354-1880 for a consultation about your reckless driving offense in Texas, including in the areas of Williamson County and Bell County. Michael J. Price an aggressive Georgetown criminal defense attorney who is compassionate about his clients and will make every effort to help them avoid the most serious penalties and repercussions to their alleged traffic offense.